Weekly Recap (9/12-9/18)

Monday: Swim—3000 yards
I didn’t feel great when I woke up.  I was tired and feeling a bit run-down for whatever reason.  I even briefly considering skipping practice and went with the idea that I’d work hard but not beat myself up if I wasn’t swimming well. And it ended up being a lesson in not judging how a workout will feel by how you feel beforehand.
500 swim
300 kick
4 x 50 (distance per stroke)
10 x 100 @ 1:35
4 x 50 (distance per stroke)
8 x 75 (kick) @ 1:35
200 strong
We finished our warm-up and the coach showed us our workout.  The workout is generally the same for all lanes, with the interval being different depending on what the “speed” of your lane is.  When I saw 1:35 for our lane, I almost nope’d out of there.  I held 1:35 for five 100s a couple weeks ago, and it was rough.  No way could I do ten.  But the lane one below mine was only holding 1:45, and that’s relatively easy for me these days.  I knew at least one of the women in my lane was around my speed and that if I failed to make the interval, she probably would too (which is kind of a jerk thing to think, but that affected my decision).  So I stayed in the lane and decided to go for it.  And I made it!  I made the interval every time.  By the end, I was holding just around 1:30 for each 100.  I was pretty stoked that I nailed this workout.  I knew I was close, but I thought it’d be another month or so of swimming 3-4 times a week before I’d get 10 x 100 @ 1:35.

Tuesday: Rest
I took a rest day.  I was able to get some stuff done around the house and get to bed nice and early (before 9:00pm).

Wednesday: Swim—1750 yards + open turns
It was IM (individual medley) day at swim practice which means we did work on all four strokes.  It was absolutely exhausting, but I know it was good for me.
200 reverse IM
200 IM kick
200 inverse IM
4 x 50 (kick, swim; IM order)
4 x 50 (closed fist; IM order)
6 x 125 IM (rotating fast 50)
Turns
For the 125s, we would do 25 of three strokes and 50 of one.  We were supposed to swim the extended stroke fast.  So we started with a fast (ha!) 50 of butterfly followed by 25 of each of the rest of the strokes.  During the next 125, we extended the backstroke leg to 50 and swam 25 of each of the rest.  You get the picture.  It was hard.  I was swimming with the faster of the two lanes I use when I usually choose to swim with the slower lane during workouts that aren’t focused on freestyle.  So I was struggling to keep up.  I was definitely bringing up the rear, but I never really got left behind, so I was pleased with my performance.  At one point while swimming the butterfly, I actually thought, “This doesn’t feel completely horrible!”  We did open turns at the end of practice, and it’s clear that I need more practice on that front, but I have no plans to race anything other than freestyle for a long time, so needing more practice isn’t a bad thing at this point.

Thursday: Run—10,000m (6.2 miles)
Track day!  I decided to do a 5k predictor workout.  So I turned to my trusty companion Google and started looking.  I saw a few options, but the one I decided on was 4 x 1600.  Simple and elegant.  I had no idea how easy or difficult this workout would be, and I wasn’t even sure what pace I should be targeting.  I decided to target a 6:59/mile pace which comes out to a 6:56 for each 1600.
1600m warmup
4 x 1600 w/400m recovery (6:54.1, 6:55.2, 6:51.8, 6:53.3)
800m cooldown
This workout was harder than I had hoped.  I had hoped I would nail it and feel great the whole time and realize that all that time away from any tempo work hadn’t affected me negatively at all.  Not quite.  I hit all my paces, but I had to work for it.  And while I currently have a large aerobic base and my baseline anaerobic speed, that area in the middle is not quite up to par with the other two.  I’m still pleased with how the workout went.  I hit my pace for each repetition even with the jogging recovery.  I got faster instead of slower towards the end (and would have been able to run that last 1600 faster than I did if I hadn’t developed a nasty side stitch).  I feel comfortable pegging my current 5k pace around 7:00/mile, which was the point of this workout anyway.  I just wanted it to be epic and groundbreaking, and instead it was just a regular ol’ solid workout.

Friday: Swim—1750 yards + sharks and minnows
I did not want to go to the pool on Friday.  I was tired and had stayed up too late the night before and was feeling lazy.  But I dragged myself out of bed and went, mostly because I wanted to ask the coach about recommendations for warming up before a meet.  It was “fun” Friday, so we played a game after a short workout.
300 swim
200 kick
100 pull
6 x 50 (closed fist)
4 x 25 (underwater)
2 x 75 (kick, scull, swim)
20 x 25 @ :30
100 easy
Sharks and minnows
The 25s felt hard, but I was swimming them almost as fast as I could.  My time slowed down pretty significantly over the 20 reps.  I started at 16ish seconds and my last ones were almost 20 seconds, but I think that’s to be expected when you are swimming so many fast intervals in a row.  Then we played sharks and minnows which was fun, but eh.  I wasn’t too into it (see above reasons for not wanting to get out of bed in the first place).  But once I got to work and drank my daily cup of coffee, I was feeling a little better.

Saturday: Swim meet (650 yards)
I had my first swim meet!  I’ll save the recap for a later post, but it went well.  I warmed up by swimming 300 yards and then doing two 100 yard builds.  I also did a couple starts.  I raced the 50 yard freestyle and the 100 yard freestyle for a total of 650 yards.

20160917_153135

Sunday: Run—7 miles (1:01:56)
This was my longest run (by a long shot) since my Ironman.  It’s strange… while I returned to swimming and cycling with no trouble after my race, running has taken a little longer.  I didn’t feel awesome on this run, partly because my calves were still a little sore from speedwork and probably partly because I haven’t been running much.  I’ve enjoyed the speedwork I’ve done lately, but I haven’t really wanted to do any tempo runs or longer runs.  Obviously, this doesn’t bode well for focusing on the 5k this fall, but I’m still in the “do what I feel like day-by-day” stage of post-Ironman life.  After my 5k next week, I’m going to start finalizing my off-season “plan.”  And, whatever my focuses end up being, finalizing my off-season plans will likely mean biting the bullet and adding some more running into my schedule.

6 thoughts on “Weekly Recap (9/12-9/18)

  1. Those swimming workouts seem tough! Can’t wait to hear how the meet went. Are you doing a local 5K next week? I think that in a race situation you will hit – or probably better – that 5 K target. The fact that running is mostly easy miles means that if you’re not super into it it can easily become a chore so maybe mixing it up (i.e. 5K training or something else?) is exactly what you need.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I’m doing a charity 5k up in Bountiful that Rob’s cousin is running (Paul Moore Foundation 5k). It’s probably going to be a pretty small race, though, so I may be running alone which negates some of the “race magic” effect. It’s a lot easier to keep up the pace during mile three when there are people to pass/be passed by!

      Like

  2. Hanna @ TheMillennialNextDoor

    So glad your swim meet went well!

    As for your running life lately…after the Pittsburgh Marathon, I really lost my appetite for most running. It was 6 weeks before I wanted to run anything more than 5 miles, and it was three MONTHS before I had any desire to do speed work. Around the two month post-marathon mark my appetite for running suddenly came roaring back and I was dying to train. I later learned, through the gift of hindsight, that the reason I felt that way in the two months following my marathon was that my body was still recovering from it, and my sudden appetite resurgence at the two month mark was a sign that my body was finally fully recovered. Based on what you’ve been noting in your post-IM running reports I can’t help wonder if that’s what’s going on with you too. It takes a long time to FULLY recover from marathons, especially marathons that take place after 114 miles of physical activity. Biking and swimming aren’t as taxing on the body which might be why those activities are coming along much quicker.

    I can’t say whether your desire to run anything other than easy miles will come back in time for a fall 5K season but it WILL come back. Just be patient, and do what you can, and remember that ANYTHING you can do, even if it’s just a 2 mile jog, is something.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think you are pretty much right on the money about my running lately. I’ve read it can take 6-8 weeks to fully recover from your first Ironman, and I’m still a good ways off that. I also think there’s an issue of mental burnout that’s stronger for running than the other two because I trained for a marathon last winter. So, marathon training, a lighter month or two, then Ironman training. It’s a lot of running, especially from someone who has a fickle relationship with running in the first place!

      I’m starting to think that a series of 5ks isn’t in the cards for this fall… and I really am totally okay with that. We’ll see if I suddenly feel energized by my 5k this weekend, but I suspect I won’t. And it’s not the right time for me to be forcing myself to do hard workouts that I don’t really want to do. There’s so much progress I can make on the swim and the bike this off-season anyway… while actually enjoying the work I’m doing! And the nice thing about doing shorter distance triathlons next year is that my training will lend itself well to improving in the 5k and maybe set me up for a good series of them next fall.

      Like

Leave a Reply

