Two month check up

I feel surprisingly calm considering it’s only two months until my Ironman.  For the first time during this training cycle, I’ve thought that if I had to do the Ironman next week, I might be able to complete it.  I wouldn’t be as fast as I could be, but I may be able to complete the distance under the time limit.  And then I swing back to the “No, I’ll never be able to do this!” mentality.  But the fact that I’m not spending all of my time convinced that finishing an Ironman is impossible for me is an improvement.

Physical

Fitness:
I’m currently getting ready to head into my final set of hard weeks before I taper.  I know I’m in the best (long-distance) shape of my life.  Sometimes I’m kind of amazed that I can just go out and run 15 miles or ride 50 miles or swim 2.5 miles.  The really crazy thing is that, even with my current fitness, I don’t know if I’m ready for an Ironman.  It’s just that intense of an event.  But instead of thinking about where I wish I were I’m trying to think about how far I’ve come.  The truth is, it doesn’t matter how fit I am—I could always dream about being faster.  Now, I’m trying to appreciate my hard work over the past year.

General health:
So far, I’ve been hanging in there.  I’ve been sleeping a little less (falling asleep before the sun sets is hard), but I haven’t felt overtired very often.  I’ve noticed a scratch in my throat the past couple of days, so I guess time will tell if it’s a fluke (I did choke on a waffle during my ride…) or if I’m coming down with a cold.

Mental

Now that I have a car and therefore more free time, I’ve been feeling much less stressed and overwhelmed.  Plus, Rob has really stepped up the last couple of weeks to help me out when I’m busy and exhausted.  I think I only made myself dinner once last week.  I need to up my mental game in regards to my actual training at this point.  I need to start making an active attempt to build my confidence, even if that just means telling myself I can do it.  I think that confidence in my ability to finish the race will help out a lot on mile 70 of the bike and mile 16 of the run.

Superlatives

Longest swim: 4500 yards

Longest ride: 77.27 miles

Longest run: 17.7 miles

Most encouraging workout: My 17.7 mile run.  This winter while I was training for my marathon, a run this long would have completely wiped me out for the rest of the day.  However, after I finished this run, I went for a long swim that afternoon and then later went for a pretty long walk with Rob because I was bored and wanted to do something somewhat active.

Most discouraging workout: My 3.5 hour (53 miles) bike ride.  I felt slow and tired during this ride, and I felt like I was behind where I should be in cycling fitness.  My recent 5 hour (77 miles) ride helped me regain some of that confidence, but I worry about the cycling leg in general.  I know I’m training on hills and at elevation, but I can’t expect the conditions at Coeur d’Alene to be perfect.  It will be hilly there too, and it will probably be windy.  I’m worried about hitting my goal (or even getting close to it!) for the cycling leg, and since that’s the longest leg of the race, it’s a little disheartening.

Average time per sport per week

Swimming: 148.4 (2.3 hours)

Cycling: 405 minutes (6.75 hours)

Running: 201.4 minutes (3.3 hours)

Other: 82.4 minutes (1.3 hours)

TimePerSport02

Looking to the future

I’ve got some really tough weeks coming up.  But—and this is both comforting and terrifying—I’m actually in the home stretch.  In just a couple months, I’ll be toeing the line in Coeur d’Alene.  I’ve started working on my race nutrition, and I need to continue to refine that plan.  I also need to get a few more open water swims in.  There honestly aren’t that many good places to swim in Salt Lake.  There’s nothing (expect the Great Salt Lake… ewww…) as big as Lake Coeur d’Alene here, so I’d like to take a day trip and get a swim in somewhere that I can really experience some chop.  And, of course, I want to stay healthy and really take advantage of the next few weeks to gain fitness.

MountainRoad

4 thoughts on “Two month check up

  1. Hanna @ TheMillennialNextDoor

    I don’t think anything could EVER make me feel ready for an Ironman! I love that feeling in the peak of training when you go for long runs like it’s no big deal and you swell with pride at being in the best shape of your life. That, to me, is my favorite part of training and the thing I miss once it’s over. Enjoy these last two months 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think it’s the same for me… it’s such a cool thing to be able to nail a long run or long ride and it’s just no big deal. Also, I’m not sure *anyone* ever feels ready for an Ironman! At least not until they’ve done a few!

      Like

Leave a Reply

