Weekly Recap (11/16-11/22)

Monday: Swim—Masters swim class (3050 yds)
I woke up on Monday feeling flat.  I think considering my hard effort on Saturday and my overall busy weekend, that’s perfectly normal.  However, it did make the swim workout on Monday even harder than it would have been normally.
300 swim
200 kick
100 pull
4 x 50 (distance per stroke)
4 x 50 (closed fist)
500 (build)
10 x 50 (whitewater kick)
5 x 100 (breathe: 3, 5, 3, 7, 3)
500 (negative split)
50 (easy)
I had a hard time with this workout.  Like I said, I felt flat, and my performance reflected it.  The five 100s were a breathing drill.  We were supposed to breathe every 3, 5, or 7 strokes depending on the number assigned to that particular 100.  I straight-up couldn’t do a 100 breathing every seven strokes.  I guess breath control is something I need to work on, even though I don’t want to and I hate it and I don’t see why I can’t just breathe every other stroke when I get tired.  I guess that’s why coaches know more than I do about this stuff.  I swam the final 500 hard and I think I managed a negative split, but I didn’t swim it nearly as fast as I swam a 500 last week.  I was a little disappointed, but I’ve been reminding myself that not every workout goes amazingly well and that pushing through when it’s tough brings about improvement.

Tuesday: Run—800m, 6 x 800, 800m
This workout was one of the speed workouts I did as a trial-run before marathon training started, so after such a fast run on Saturday and such a hard swim on Monday, the familiarity was comforting.  My training schedule called for my 800s to run in 3:27, but because I’ve been hitting the prescribed paces without much trouble, I’ve been aiming to run a little faster.  So I was aiming to hit 3:20 consistently.  I actually managed to hold back and not blast out the first 800 way too fast, and I think it did help me later on in my workout.  My times were really consistent and exactly where I wanted them to be:
3:17.2, 3:18.4. 3:18.6, 3:18.5, 3:18.3, 3:17.5
It was a hard workout, especially since I only took one minute rest between each rep, but my times were significantly better than the last time I did this workout a few weeks ago.  I was better rested for this go-around, but I was also in Salt Lake instead of Nampa, and the elevation makes a big difference in my performance.  I also felt like I recovered faster than I have from speed workouts.  I was wiped out by the end of the workout, but I wasn’t completely exhausted the rest of the night.

Wednesday: Bike—30 minutes
I went on a short spin during lunch.  I rode pretty hard for the time I was out, but I accidentally reset my computer in the middle of the ride, so I don’t know my exact time or distance.  I am really starting to enjoy lunchtime rides.  It gets me out of the office and rejuvenates me in the middle of the day.  I find I need that, especially during the winter.  It doesn’t hurt that I really love the path I ride on during lunch.  It’s got a kind of barren, desolate beauty, especially when it’s cold outside.

12142613_1488749394763762_223576720_n(1)
It’s not everyone’s cup of tea, but I love views like this.

Thursday: Run—7 miles (54:32)
These tempo runs keep getting longer and longer.  I mean, I know that’s kind of expected, but still.  The training plan I’m using has three different tempo length ranges (short, medium, long) with three different paces attached.  So my seven mile tempo this week was slated to be the same pace as my five mile run last week.  My plan called for an 8:00/mile pace, but I wanted to aim a little faster than that and try to hit closer to a 7:45/mile pace.  It was a rough day out there.  There was a moderate, chilly wind and my legs were pretty heavy.  I started out fast (too fast… it’s something I need to work on), but I had a hard time keeping my tempo up throughout the bulk of my run.  There were very few times where my pace felt easy.  It didn’t feel hard for the most part, just forced and not all that smooth.  I started to feel a little nauseated towards the end of the run as well.  I ate an early lunch before going for a run, and I don’t think I gave it enough time to digest.  Despite the run being a little rough, it ended up being a solid performance, and my final pace was 7:47/mile.

Friday: REST
This was a glorious rest day that involved sleeping in until 6:00am and incorporating almost zero movement into my life.   I did, however, stop by the Backcountry.com retail store and choose some running shoes as a birthday present from my parents.  I’m very excited to order them as soon as I receive my new debit card (because I lost mine, which is the most annoying thing in the world).

Saturday: Run—13 miles (1:48:36)
I have mixed feelings about my long run this week.  Of course, a part of me always hopes to go faster, faster, faster, and my pace this week was 8:21/mile, which is almost 30 seconds slower than my pace last week.  But I still feel positive about the way I ran.  I have been feeling tired and heavy-legged all week, and that continued into this run.  Add to that the elevation, the hills, and the fact that I forgot winter means water fountains are turned off, and I feel like I put a strong effort in.  I didn’t kill myself during this run, but I didn’t want to.  As I said, I’ve been feeling a bit overworked physically, so I started this run aiming for an  8:30/mile pace, even though I know on a good day I could probably hit 8:15/mile.  I did slow down during the middle miles, and I’d like to improve on that front.  I struggle with keeping an even pace during my longer runs, which ultimately comes down to a lack of focus.  Before the run, I fueled with a bottle of water, scrambled eggs and toast, leftover baguette, and a handful of pretzels.  During the run, I ate a chocolate Hammer Gel around mile five.  It settled in my stomach pretty easily and didn’t taste terrible.  I didn’t have any water because of the aforementioned water fountain fiasco.  After the run, I had some chocolate milk.  That’s usually the first thing I can stomach after a hard effort, and I needed to eat something quickly because Rob and I left soon after I got back to help his aunt clean out her gutters.

ThirteenMile9thand9th.PNG
Elevation profile for my run… that first hill is a killer.

Sunday: Bike—25.72 miles (1:41:05)
One good thing about winter is that it’s never too hot to work out in the afternoon.  This means that on Sundays, I can sleep in because I don’t need to get my workout in before heading to church.  Score.  So I slept in (until 6:30am…) and had a lazy morning before going to church and then going on my bike ride. It was a perfect fall day.  It was in the mid-40s, and the sun was bright.  I wore a base layer and regular jersey, long tights, gloves, and double socks.  I would have worn toe covers, but those were being borrowed.  My toes got a little chilly, but otherwise, I dressed perfectly for the weather. I set out planning on riding for about an hour, but once I got out there, I wanted to make the ride a little more substantial.  Days as beautiful as this one will become increasingly rare as the season progresses, so I wanted to take advantage of it.  I ended up riding to the mouth of Big Cottonwood Canyon and back.  The whole ride was beautiful and sunny and crisp, and except for one pesky hill, I enjoyed the whole thing.

10 thoughts on “Weekly Recap (11/16-11/22)

  1. What a great week of training! I think it’s also important to think about the purpose of the long run… sometimes it’s to make a goal pace feel more comfortable, other times it’s to be able to carry through the run on tired legs, pace aside. I think you nailed it!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great job this week – especially with those 800s and that long run elevation! Wooo! I love 800s. I’m excited to get back to some speed work now that my calf seems to be cooperating again. That backdrop that you get while cycling is pretty fabulous – great picture! I thought of you this morning. I swam 1500 straight. I wasn’t in the mood to do a workout, so I just kept swimming. It was so boring and I wished my waterproof headphones weren’t broken, but I did that plus some kicking and pulling and got it done!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m surprised at how much I’m enjoying speed work. I thought track soured me for good on that, but I’m really enjoying it! Nice job in the pool! It’s so hard for me to swim sets over 1000… so boring. One of my goals next summer is to make open water swimming a priority for more of my long swims.

      Like

Leave a Reply

