Ten Month Checkup

It seems like just last week that I wrote my eleven month checkup.  I cannot believe how quickly the time is passing. When I initially decided that I would do Ironman Coeur d’Alene, the race was in late June.  They changed it just this year to late August, and I am so glad they did.  Those extra two months seem absolutely vital at this point.  Those extra two months are giving me the time to complete a whole marathon training cycle this winter which will be a huge confidence builder for me.  I’m a little bit disappointed because I know I’ll likely be racing in warmer weather than I would have been, but this year’s Ironman Coeur d’Alene was in June and was still over 100°, so at least I know to prepare for warm weather.  It won’t sneak up on me.

Physical

Fitness:
Cycling is winding down and running is ramping up.  And, right on schedule, I’m feeling great about my running.  I’ve been hitting paces I haven’t hit in a long time, especially when I visit Idaho and have the elevation advantage.  I wish I could match my Idaho performance here in Utah.  The elevation matters, but I think I also run faster when I’ve got a running partner.  When my dad is there to talk to, I forget how miserable running is and don’t have trouble keeping my pace up during the middle miles of a long run.  Regardless, I feel well-prepared to start marathon training in a couple of weeks.  Looking at my recent paces, I’m even considering training a little more aggressively than I had originally planned.  My long runs are currently slated for a 9:00/mile, but maybe an 8:45/mile would be more in line with my current fitness.

General health:
I’ve had a lingering cough for a long time now, but it hasn’t bothered me much recently.  My appetite has been much better, and I’m back up to a (mostly) healthy weight.  Really, my biggest issue is general fatigue.  I’ve just been tired lately.  The reason for that?  I’ve been staying up too late.  Simple as that.  I need to get my act together and put myself to bed 30-60 minutes earlier in the evenings.

Mental

Despite a slight panic when I realized the Ironman was only ten (TEN!) months away, I have been surprisingly tough mentally.  I’ve been working on positive self-talk, at least in regards to triathlon.  It’s strange, but positive self-talk is easier for me in the realm of athletics than it is in real life.  I can’t find my keys?  I’m a loser who never should have graduated high school!  I have a seriously bad workout?  I do what I can to finish it and plan to try a similar one the next week.  In addition to positive self-talk, I’m focusing on staying realistic.  I’ve been reading Ironman Coeur d’Alene race reports so I can try to anticipate and train for the very real difficulties I’ll face on race day.  So far, the most common issues (besides the fact that it’s a freaking Ironman!) seem to be choppy water and hills on the bike.  Next summer, I’m going to take a few day trips to Bear Lake to practice swimming in a large enough body of water to experience some noticeable chop.  And you better believe I will be prepared for the hills with all the canyons around here.

Superlatives

Longest swim workout: 2800yds

Longest ride: 37 miles

Longest run: 9 miles

Most encouraging workout: My 51:58 climb up Emigration Canyon.  I had been chasing that PR since June.  I knew I had it in me, but I was beginning to think the conditions wouldn’t align before winter hit.  I felt strong and fast, and I think I’ve finally learned how to push myself to the point of exhaustion on the bike.

Most discouraging workout: A really tragic speed workout on a treadmill during my lunch hour.  It was inexplicably bad—I still haven’t come up with a plausible theory for what happened to me that day.

Average time per sport per week

Swimming: 60 minutes

Cycling: 121.25 minutes

Running: 121.25 minutes

TimePerSport10

Looking to the future

I’ve done a good job preparing for the start of my marathon training.  Now I just need to keep up with my cycling and swimming even when I’m focusing on running.  I will be running three times a week.  I’d like to continue to get at least one good weekend ride in every week, at least while the weather stays pleasant.  However, I suspect that as the weather gets colder, I’ll start swimming more.  During the winter, I’d like to start attending masters twice a week instead of once.  Additionally, I want to add some core work to my routine.  For my next checkup, I want to have started doing a short ab workout 2-3 times a week.  I can’t tell you how many times I have decided I should probably do this and then have just never gotten around to it.

East Canyon earlier this month
East Canyon earlier this month
3 thoughts on “Ten Month Checkup

  1. I didn’t realize you are training for Cour D’alene! I’ve done two 70.3s but haven’t made the commitment to do a full yet. I really want to – and that’s the one I want to do!! I think I need a new bike, though – I just have a very basic road bike. Maybe someday…I can’t wait to follow your training!

    Like

    1. Yeah, I’ve heard really good things about Coeur d’Alene! Plus, I went to college about an hour away, so it’s a familiar area to me. I had it narrowed down to CdA and Boulder and decided mostly based on elevation. 🙂

      I just have a pretty basic road bike too! I’m going to get clip-on aero bars, but I’m not going to get a TT bike. My boyfriend works for a bike retailer, and he says that a nice wheelset is a better investment than a TT bike if you want to go faster anyway. So you probably don’t need a whole new bike– I bet you can beef up the one you have if you don’t want to spend a ridiculous amount of money on a new bike.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Good point about the wheelset! I have a Specialized Dolce – I really do love it, even though it isn’t fancy. Maybe next summer I’ll look into that. I have clip on aero bars but I have yet to put them on!! I got them for Christmas last year and only did an Olympic distance tri this year. I have been itching to do another 70.3 though… 🙂 So addicting!

        Like

Leave a Reply

